2011 Conference (Leeds)

Learning Partnerships

July 14-15, 2011
The Met Hotel, Leeds

A conference for all involved in Teacher Education, including school and university, academic, administrative and support staff, including dissemination of APTE’s regional responses to the Education White Paper and consideration of subsequent policy announcements.

For a full list of those involved, updated on a regular basis please see below.

Keynote Speakers:

  • Maggie Farrar (NCSL, Strategic Director for Policy, Research & Development)
  • John Carr (TDA, Director of Training & Qualification for Teachers)

Expert Panel/ Discussants:

  • Andrew Pollard (Institute of Education and University of Bristol) [Deliberations]
  • Jill Woods (Head Teacher, Little London Primary School)
  • Mary Read (University of Hertfordshire)
  • Chris Clark (Head Teacher, Queen Elizabeth School)
  • Denise Robinson (Director – Huddersfield University Centre for Excellence in Teacher Training (HUDCETT))
  • Martin Beedle– Consultant, Professional Learning and Workforce Development (Wakefield Local Authority)


  • Teach First Mentor Recognition Framework– Nicky Hepworth (LJMU) and David Cameron (CCCU)
  • From Good to Outstanding– Lynda Moore (University of Chester)
  • A Leading Learning Project– Lori Beckett (Leeds Metropolitan University)
  • Research Methods: Exploring the Field– d’Reen Struthers (Roehampton University)
  • Administrative Challenges and Champions: Sharing Good Practice– Amy Newton (Leeds Metropolitan University)
  • Promoting a Professional Exchange between Partners for ITE Improvement from Early Years to PCET – Steve Holden and Sue Cordell (Sheffield Hallam University)
  • GTP– exact focus to be confirmed
  • PCET Workshop- Gina Donavan (Christchurch Canterbury University)

Other Conference Events and Activities

  • Dance Club Performance (KS2)- Kelly Steeples, Outstanding Young teacher of the Year 2010, Assistant Headteacher, South Dale CofE Junior School
  • APTE AGM (including presentation of accounts and Election of Committee Members)